If driving fast is one of your guilty pleasures, take notice. On January 1, 2010 a new law went into effect that can make it much more expensive to unleash your inner Dale Earnhardt. Known as the “Super Speeder” Law, its aim is to make the roads in Georgia safer while adding to its coffers. Drivers caught driving over 74 mph on any two-lane road, or over 84 mph on any bigger roads such as state highways or interstates, can be charged a fee in addition to the speeding fines imposed by the municipality. That fee is currently $200 and is billed by the state’s Department of Driver Services and is payable within 120 days from the date of the original citation. Failure to pay the Super Speeder fine risks having your license suspended. The cost to re-instate your license is $50, bringing the potential costs to $250. For more information, go to the Georgia DDS for the most up-to-date information.
Call Justin J. Wyatt & Associates or schedule your free consultation ONLINE today to have your case reviewed. In metro-Atlanta we serve clients in Cherokee, Cobb, Fulton, Gwinnett, and Paulding Counties. Our most important considerations are always you and getting the results you need.
Disclaimer: The information posted here may not be up-to-date. It is provided strictly for your convenience only. We do not guarantee the accuracy of this information and it should not be considered legal advice.